any artsy types out there?

I applied to become a pattern tester and wasn't chosen because of the quality of my work. I completely understand about constructive criticism, but in my 28 years on this earth I have yet to figure out how not to get upset about it.

I'm eccentric. I'm an artist, and at the same time I'm painfully shy and sensitive about my work. The last time my own husband saw me act was on Youtube and the last time he heard me sing was when he came home early as a surprise. (Incidentally, we both learned how loud I could scream that day.) I'm supposed to be on Xanax, but I haven't got time to sleep all day.

Crochet allows me to express my creativity in a private way. Most people IRL don't even know what it is and are daunted by it. And one thing I really love about it is if you mess up, you can always go back and fix it. Or if it's finished and you absolutely hate it, you can frog the entire thing. It can be perfect...kinda.

Am I making any sense here? :)

I wouldn't worry about it. Some people do not think anyone's work is as good as theirs. To those people, they do not know what they are missing.

We all have a creativity in us when it comes to our crocheting. We all have our quirks. This person sounds to me like they are looking for machine type crocheting not personal.

Hey write them off as an experience and keep crocheting.

I laughed:rofl when you said you found out how loud you can scream. Sorry, but I jus had to chuckle over that.

Keep smiling, kick back and enjoy you craft.:hook

i never apply to be a tester because i personally don't have perfect gauge nor am i always on time or a self starter.. good reason why i don't work for myself. :yes also someone can tell me my work is awesome, but I am still in self doubt.. i see the flaws no one else does.. sadly this perfectionism only extends to my crochet work, as I am sadly flawed else where in my life, yet can't see those. lol