Crochet with beads

PamT

I am somewhat new at crocheting and I have seen some lovely patterns using beads. I have tried them but I can never figure out how to get the beads on the crochet thread. If I use a sewing needle, the eye and thread are too large to get through the hole in the bead. I'm sure there is a way to do it but I just can't figure it out.

Thanks,

PamT

What I have done to get my strung onto the thread is take some thin, I mean thin thin wire and fold in half over the thread, than the folded ends twist them real tight till they are small enough to go thru the holes of the seed beads.

If you are using Czech beads, their holes are often irregular. Japanese beads are much more regular. Also, there are different sizes of beads, you might want to try some larger ones. They come numbered between 6/0 to 20/0, with 6/0 being the largest. There are also Delica beads, which are actually cylinder beads and have very large holes.

You can either buy a special needle for threading, do the twisty wire thing, keep cutting the thread and getting a point to push through, or buy your beads in hanks. Hanks are usually ~200 beads on a thin string. You tie one end of the string onto the crochet thread, and slide 'em on down.

I use size 8 seed beads for my size 10 crochet thread. I dab some glue on my thread about 2" to use it as a needle to string on beads. Japanese seed beads works best for this since they are more even. I love crocheting with beads. :manyheart

This is how I do it, too. Works like a charm. But I use nail polish instead of glue.

I dab some glue on my thread about 2" to use it as a needle to string on beads.

I also use nail polish on the thread.. or if there is a wider hole in the bead, I get a bead needle for jewlery.

Usually I bead crochet with wire, so threading is no problem, (except for the time threading the gadzillion beads that I use)

like here:

http://www.crochetville.org/forum/showthread.php?p=63333#post63333