want to know about thread and beads???

angel1

Hi guys,

I went to some sites that ya'll have mentioned but I don't want to do animals and critters with beads, and no rope either. I am interested in crocheting the thin yarn (thread?) with beads for a look of elegance. Maybe using with doilies and dresser and table runners? How do you get the beads in the crocheting? do you put them on as you go or do you string an abundance of them on the thread in the very beginning and then when you need one in a certain spot just bring it to you and crochet it in? Sorry to sound so dumb about this but I have never worked with beads before. I've been crocheting since I was 8 yrs old (I'm now 42 and a grandma) so I've been crocheting for a while now...but never with beads. I'd like to learn how. Many Thanks....Beverly

Well, don't know whether this will help or not, but I have always put the beads on the thread frist. Of cours, I have only worked with beads on doll dresses and such.

If you are working with seed beads, that is the best way. Now if you are working with larger beads, you might want to try the method in this months Crochet Today magazine. It is using 2 hooks on for the yarn and one to add the bead to the yarn or thread.

In fact, if you look at the thread labled "Is this a new way to add beads?" you might be able to understand. Or you could go to the Crochet Today website and see it there.

This is a method I am going to try when I use larger than seed beads.:hook

• 2 weeks later...

I recently completed a beautiful lariat designed by Lily Chin. The pattern is in the following book:

Knit and Crochet with Beads by Lily M. Chin

ISBN 1-931499-44-6, Softbound, 150pgs, $21.95, Interweave Press, Inc.

It required 1450 bugle beads strung on pure silk thread. I absolutely love it. I pre-strung the beads...it really isn't all that time consuming and it's rather theraputic, LOL. The results were worth it.

Chantal