Could anyone host a beginner....

craftygirl2

I just joined a sock group and so far I havnt figured it out either however I do have the needles and I bought dowels to make my own needles and I have the pattern so maybe one day I can attempt it when I have all my other chores accomplished (WIP) LOL

I will have to look for the pattern I used a few months ago to make my hubby some crochet socks they were too easy.

crochet7002.jpg

DCP_0002.jpg

I think this is the patern I used for my first pair.

http://www.crochetme.com/issue_1/socks_in_shoes.html

And this one looked pretty easy too

http://www.graftonfibers.com/socks.htm

Ok first you need to decide what pattern you want to try. I have done the one at crochetme so I would be able to help with that one...I am not very good at explaining things so let me know what parts you need help with....I am on msn messenger send me a message if you want to add me it might be a bit easier to help

I found the best way to do any pattern, including socks, is to jump in there and try it. Look on the internet and find some patterns and get some yarn (since I would call it practice, I wouldn't use real expensive yarns but some stash busting yarn) and your hook and just try the patterns and keep at them until you find one you like and that works well.

I'd like to join everyone. I want to make a toe up sock pattern like suggested here on the 'ville.

It's similar to the grafton fibers toe up pattern but it uses what's called a short rowed heel rather than afterthought heel in the grafton fibers sock. I find that the afterthought heel makes this tight odd feeling around the ankle because the chain doesn't offer any give.

I have made a two pairs of socks so I can help with questions. I ditto the jump right on in. I had no clue what I was doing but figured it out as I went along.