Are bamboo hooks any good?

Criddy

I'm wanting to start doing Tunisian Crochet and I found this (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=290473350959&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT) set of hooks on E-bay.

I have never used any form of wooden hook before and one of the lady's at my LYS yesterday said that bamboo was crap to crochet with. So I thought I would ask if anyone here has used it and can you please let me know weather you think they are good to work with or not?

I do understand it's also a lot about personal preference but if people here say they like using bamboo I will buy them and not be annoyed if I find I don't particularly like them.

Thanks guys :D

Bamboo is WONDERFUL. I wouldn't be crocheting today if it weren't for bamboo hooks. After two hand operations, I thought my hooking days were done. The bamboo are light and warm to the hand (I can't stand cold on the hand).

Like you said, it's a lot about personal preferences, but I do say give bamboo a try. If you hate them you can always sell them or gift them to someone who likes bamboo, but I bet if you try it you'll like it. Now, I have not tried Tunisian (didn't know there were bamboo hooks for it).

Bamboo is ALL i use!!! and I have a set of Dangle hooks just like those.. but my hooks are very long. and have a 40" flex tube...check out ebat user 8-seasonknitting. they have great hooks and they are where i have gotten All my dangle bamboo hooks from.

Thanks guys, I think I will get them next pay. Specially seeing as I can't find any Tunisian crochet hooks locally. I don't understand what the lady at Knit and Purl (my LYS) was talking about then. Because she said that bamboo would not hold up well for crocheting at all and that's why it was crap. I'm glad I asked you all instead of just taking her advice. I'll post after I get them to let you guys know what I think of them.