Buying stuff from the USA

Mittymoo

I would like to know the ins and outs of purchasing items from the USA. I see plenty of items that I can't seem to obtain here, and would like to know how (in itty bitty steps, please!) how I go about purchasing items, like yarn, from the US. Its the $ exchange rate that has got me beat! I know that the Aussie $ is currently worth about 86c US.

Just want to know how others, probably other Aussies, go about purchasing items from the US.

Jenny.

Jenny, it would all depend on whether the company you want to purchase from ships internationally. For most small companies, you would need to use a credit card or Paypal to purchase something on their website and pay them in US funds. Then your credit card would convert the US $ price to the price in your currency, probably based on whatever the exchange rate is that day. I'm not sure if they charge an extra fee for doing this or not.

Thanks for that, Amy!! I am very new to this internet thingy, and have just been awestruck while looking at various websites. I should, perhaps, make enquiries of any businesses who have items that I find that I cannot live without!! You know, yarn, crochet patterns!!!

Jenny

It's the shipping that can make your head spin.

Here's the currency converter that I use so you can get a good idea of what the USD vs the AUD (or other currencies) can be: http://www.xe.com/ucc/.

International money orders are another means of paying for items in a different country, but they are expensive ....

If you're looking at an eBay auction, for example, but it says they don't ship outside of the United States, ask them anyway if they'll ship. More often than not, they will say yes. But ask them before you bid.

I buy a lot of items from Germany and international sales aren't difficult. They're just more expensive (sometimes) when you add on the shipping.