Understanding patterns

zebracakefreak

Question

I'm very new to crochet, and so far the only things I've made are hats, scarves, and blankets, and I've just made them up as I go along. I've tried different patterns, but I feel like I'm dyslexic trying to read them. I know what most of the abbreviations are for but for some reason I keep getting really overwhelmed trying to follow along. Does anyone have any pointers when following a pattern or is there something that has helped you to break the patterns down to better understand them?

Thanks in advance,

~Jessica

22 answers to this question

Download my article on how to read crochet patterns here:

http://www.nexstitch.com/a_read_crochet_patterns.html

I hope some of what's there will help you. We certainly don't want to lose someone from the craft because of how difficult patterns can be on newbies. Once you get the hang of it, your confidence and undestanding will pick up...and by that time, you WILL be addicted!

WOW... Thank you so much!

That article should be required reading for anyone starting to crochet. I was really on the verge of giving up on patterns, even the "beginner" books I bought never broke it down like that. I've got it saved on the computer now for easy reference, thanks again!

~Jessica

I've been crocheting for 40 years now, and taught myself to read patterns. My mom and gramma just looked at something and crocheted it, but I wasnt that talented. It was hard at first, but it just takes practice and alot of frogging. LOL But never give up. I still have problems with some patterns, but now its just a challenge . I feel like I'm breaking a code!!!!LOL Dont give up , just be determined, and you will do fine.

I hope some of what's there will help you. We certainly don't want to lose someone from the craft because of how difficult patterns can be on newbies. Once you get the hang of it, your confidence and undestanding will pick up...and by that time, you WILL be addicted!