Intimidated beginner here

Miztiki

Question

Hello everyone. I've got some yarn and don't know what to do with it now, so I hope you can help me.

Years and years ago I made a baby blanket. The other day I made a scarf for my husband's trip to Norway. That's about the extent of my experience.

He thinks I'm some kind of expert now and wants me to make a couch-snuggling blanket. He picked up four 1 pound skeins of Caron worsted weight, 4-ply, acrylic yarn. One is a light green and the other is cream colored.

What am I gonna do with it?

I'm thinking of making a bunch of different granny squares so I have a chance to try different stitches. I've never made a square before though and I'm afraid my squares won't be the same size. Would a granny square blanket be too much for a beginner? If that would be ok then I could join them together with a third color too.

What do you think about a granny square blanket for an inexperienced person? Thanks!

Miz

:D Go to crochetcabana.com to see how to do granny squares. I had no idea how to do them, but on this site, she walks you through every step with pictures. I printed it out, and if I got stuck, I had the picture and instructions under the picture to help me. I just finished an afghan of granny squares, and it came out fine.

if they are slightly different sizes it should be OK to join them together with out too much problem...what patterns are you talking about? my gram used to always tell me to use the same hook and to always have the same number of stitches...the 63 squares book does have some interesting squares but they dont seem to come out the same size(at least in my experience) so just keep an eye out on your guage and everything should be ok! If you are just doing granny squares just count the number of rounds that you did even if they are different colors...good luck :) oh and make sure you post pictures of your FO (finished object):cheer:manyheart

That wasn't so bad! Thank you.