Wedding afghan: cotton, acrylic, wool...?

Megfoot

Question

Hi all,

Please be kind, as I am new. :D I have been crocheting for 10 years, but I'm really not sure what to do here. Friends are getting married on June 24, so I don't have a lot of time. I found a nice pattern for an on-the-double red/white/blue afghan. But I don't want it to be some cheapo material, as it is supposed to last them a long time, and I don't want it to pill or otherwise look gross in a year's or less time. Money isn't really an object (just this once!!).

Has anyone used worsted weight cotton to make an afghan, besides a baby afghan? It seems like it wouldn' t pill as much. Or is there another material that I'm overlooking? I'm just so used to the Red Heart stuff, but I have noticed that over time that can look a bit ratty. I just want them to LOVE LOVE LOVE their afghan. :manyheart

16 answers to this question

Bernat has this new stuff that is sooo soft. Check it out! It's mostly cotton with some nylon.

http://www.bernat.com/product.php?LGC=coolcrochet

Susan

I did see this, and I did think it was rather expensive. Still, I would have considered it--but they didn't have the right colors. Has anyone else noticed that when you're looking for a particular color or set of colors, NONE of the yarns you have in mind come in those colors?!

I bought some Simply Soft to see how it goes. I checked on Patons Grace but it's too light. I wasn't excited about modifying the pattern to deal with it... maybe if I had more time. I know you're supposed to have a year to give gifts, but that year can go by awfully fast. (Can you tell I've done this before?)

Thanks for the advice, everyone!

Caron simply soft is my pick too! I have made several items for my girls out of it like pincho's and shrugs and it washes great! believe me I have washed the stuff alot! Red Heart does pill after a few washings I have noticed that!