Are you a CGOA "Master" or a designer? ?'s for you...

I've been crocheting for about 7 years now. I have good tension and can follow patterns with fair ease. I love learning new techniques and how to better improve my talent.

I'm wondering for all you designers out there: How did you get into it? Did you take a course, did someone show you the ropes? Or did you just figure it out for yourself? I would love to design, I have ideas in my head, I just don't know how to get them into a pattern that makes sense. I mean, I know how patterns are written and I'm sure I could do a blanket, I just don't know how to design sweaters and other clothing to size. If I have a pattern for a 0-3 months baby layette, I don't know how to make it for a 3-6 month size. If they have instructions for 0-3, 3-6. and 6-12 then I can usually figure out how to make a 12-18 by just mulitplying the increases but other then that I'm stumped. Is there a book out there to help with how to design? Or basic knowledge of how to change the size of something in a pattern?

Also, is anyone out there a CGOA "Master"? I'd love to do the program, but I don't feel confident enough in my understanding of crochet design. I wouldn't have any problems with the tension or technique, just with the problem-solving and design related questions. Has anyone else done this? Did you "study" for it?

Point me in the right direction please. :hook

Hi Tracey,

What ever happened to CGOA? I tried to access their website yesterday and it has disappeared. :( I am also interested in the design aspect and have been tearing my hair out over sizing, ease, and trying to wrie a pattern for different sizes. I could use some help myself.

Where in PA are you? I am a fell time RV'er but stay near the MD/PA line to visit family several times a year.

Roli