Looking for EASY cardigan pattern

beccalovely

Question

Hi all, 

Ok so I am very new to crochet, I've completed a granny square blanket and have been keeping a sort of 'sampler' where I practice rows of new stitches as I teach myself them from online videos/instructions. 

Tonight I have just mastered the basket weave stitch, which I love, and am going to make a blanket out of. 

Having seen some of my projects a friend has asked me for a new crochet cardigan (her current shop-bought one has seen better days). 

Can anyone recommend a good very easy pattern? It needs to be long sleeved and have a long body, ie the body longer than the sleeves as my friend likes to cover up a bit :) 

My other questions:

- Will I need a long crochet hook for something like a cardigan? 

- Should I try a different, perhaps easier, clothing garment before tackling a cardigan?

- How do I know how much yarn I will need?

I'm very nervous about tackling clothing I must admit, so any general hints and tips would also be very welcome! 

Thanks for reading, 

Beccalovely

22 answers to this question

Well this afternoon I've browsed through Ravelry and found a toddler size cardigan that I am going to try first for the same friend's daughter (might keep her happy whilst I'm learning haha!)

Whilst the pattern shows a multicolour finished product, I'm going to stick to plain white all the way through just to keep it extra simple, and it also means the little one can wear it with anything. I've been to the post office and got the yarn, a nice baby 4 ply (I say that like I know it means something, but in reality I'm just telling you what is on the label haha!) 

It is thinner than the DK yarns I've used so far, so it will be interesting to see how it feels in my hand with a new sized hook.