New to this and having a problem.

rita821

Question

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to crocheting, mainly teaching myself with the help of videos. I've only completed a baby blanket, bag and couple of scarfs. The problem I have is starting a new project. The first row or two are just so tight, I don't know what I'm doing wrong, once I get to the 3rd row my tension is much better, but those first couple of rows are very difficult to get my hook into. I've even tried starting off with a larger hook size and then switch over to the right size but my work in the beginning is still so tight and so tedious just to get through. I'm getting discouraged and thought maybe others have had this problem and can give me some hints on what to do. Thanks for reading.

rita821

14 answers to this question

Here is a trick I use to use.  Try slipping your yarn thru a ring on your finger.  One that has enough room for the yarn to slide thru.  This most of the time, helps with the tension.

Welcome to the ville :hook

I think the main answer to this is just to keep practicing.  when you only have a little bit of crocheting to hold on to, it can be difficult to hold it loosely.  Do whatever you can to physically loosen up your grip on the yarn, the hook, and the crochet piece.  Don't wrap the working yarn around all your fingers, don't grip the hook tightly.  Make sure that the loop you pull up gets all the way onto the shaft of the hook, beyond the narrower tapered part.  

a lot of crocheters use a bigger hook for the beginning chain, one or two sizes bigger than you will use for the rest of the piece.  

Another thing you might try is the foundation dc or foundation sc (or whichever stitch you're using).  Just google "foundation dc stitch".  It really comes out looking very nice, and there's no pulling or tightening of the chain.  It is a little tricky to get used to, but once you've mastered it, you'll never go back!  Happy crocheting!