Etimo Tulip Crochet Hooks set?

mudder17

Hi!  I'm fairly new to crocheting, as well as to this forum, but am not new to fiber.  I've been knitting for about 2 years now, and decided to pick up crochet in November, so about 3 months ago.  I started with amigurumi, since it meant small projects with quick results and had a blast.  I am currently using Clover Takumi Soft Touch hooks, which is so much easier on my hand than the traditional metal ones, but I find my hands still get tired if I'm not careful to take frequent breaks.  Recently I bought one ergonomic Crochet Dude aluminum hook from Joann's and I definitely like the feel of them better.  I read several reviews of the Etimo Tulip Crochet Hook set (basically this set: http://www.joann.com/caron-tulip-etimo-crochet-hook-set-with-scrissors-sizes-d-e-f-g-7-h-i-j/zprd_10820470a/) and it sounds like something I would really be interested in.  The problem is that Amazon and Joann are both sold out and ebay sells it for way more. 

Is the hype about the set worth it?  Should I wait for them to come out with more?  Or should I just suck it up and buy them individually (~$9 a piece), sticking to the sizes I use most often?

Any and all suggestions from those more experienced than I am would be most welcome!

Thanks!

Eileen

Personally I would never buy a set of anything without trying it out first. I'd get one in a frequently used size and give it a trial before i even thought about buying a whole set.  

Also, it is good for all of us to take breaks! 

I've never used the Tulip hooks you are looking at, but I've had a set of their smaller steel hooks for over a year and I love them. They make working with thread so much easier, I'd never go back to a regular steel hook again.