Crocheting is....fun!

I am very new to crochet. I was taught by my mom years ago how to do the basics, but never went very far, and recently have found this urge to get back into it. I always thought it was boring and something only old people do. Well, here I am, 34, and LOVING my new hobby!!

There are so many patterns and fun things to make. I have a project waiting in the wings, the mail is very slow in bringing my wool order in. I ordered it on September 27, and here we are October 8th and it's just arrived in Vancouver from Illinois. Hopefully it will arrive here in the next day or two, but with Monday being a holiday here, I will be impressed if I see it by next weekend.

So...in the meantime, I needed to keep crocheting to get better. I am making a holder for my plastic grocery bags. I recycle most of them but like to keep a handful around for carting lunches etc around in. I bought some blue Loops and Threads Impeccable from Michaels and dug in this morning. I am not in love with this yarn, but seeing how I don't know the difference in them, it is a good learning experience. I just can't believe how much fun I am having sitting and crocheting! I always wondered how mom could sit there and crochet for hours, now I know!! Its addictive and a productive way to spend the evenings when we are just watching TV. I learned 2 new stitches and have mastered crocheting behind another stitch. Being able to see the project develop as I go is so very cool!! I could have just gone and bought a holder, but making it myself is so much better; a great feeling of accomplishment lol.

Anyways, just needed to share with other people with the same passion! No one else in my family does crochet so I have no one to get advice from, I love this website lol. Thanks for reading :)

Rachel