Pet Peeve, but maybe it is me?

I am working on a huge afghan, one that would almost fit on my Cal King sized bed. It is for a friend, and she picked the pattern out of a book I had just bought. It was a pretty easy pattern to work up and it went fast. Then I get to the boarder. It took me HOURS to figure out that the pattern was wrong in the book . . . at least when it worked up, looking nothing like he picture. I played with it until I thought it looked right and now I think I have it. Now, I am far from an expert at reading patterns, or crocheting even, but I am fairly sure it was wrong. Now, this isn’t a free pattern, it is one I bought in a published book, and that made me a little mad that it was wrong. It could be me, not reading it right, and if so, I should be mad at myself :eek Anyway, I had to vent a little. Does this happen to anyone else?

You're not the only one. I get annoyed regardless of whether it's a free pattern or from a book or magazine I've bought. I also get annoyed when the pattern turns out to be right, but because of how the pattern is written, it's confusing. Pattern writing is not easy work, one would think it would be, but people think differently and perceive things differently. What is obvious to me, isn't so much to someone else. Some pattern writers write down every.little.nuance, which is totally helpful to those who need that kind of pattern, and some patterns are written with the assumption that the crocheter knows what they are doing. And then you have everything in between.

I've written up patterns before, and I did run into a few people that just didn't get what I was saying, while the majority of people who used my pattern did get it with no problem.