Why is it that i can't crochet hats?!

pixi

Question

:think i simply suck at them or start them off good then they just get into a mess grr grrr grrr

does anyone else have problems like this

13 answers to this question

I have been crocheting nonstop for more than five years and I've never made a hat. :eek

So I can't help.

Some day...I keep saying that!...I'm going to attempt a hat pattern, and it'll probably be one of Dot's. :hook

I am not the afghan/hat/scarf type crocheter, I guess you could say.

that i can't crochet hats?!:think i simply suck at them or start them off good then they just get into a mess grr grrr grrr

does anyone else have problems like this

Try Dot's patterns, XO is my favourite. Try Etaria's Thick and Warm Hat pattern if you like doing post stitches, try the Basic Hat Pattern in Original patterns.

I suck at hats, those worked out.

Well, I make tons of hats. Have you tried this rule of thumb: however many stitches you start with that's how many stitches you add per round. So, if you start with 8, you add 8 each round. Second round you do 2 stitches in each stitch, third round you do 2 stitches in every other stitch, fourth round 2 stitches in every 3 stitch, fifth round 2 stitches in every 4 stitch, etc. Do that until the hat is around 5 1/2" to 6" for a woman's head. Then stop adding and just work even. It's easier to not join at the end of rounds, but if you're doing a pattern, or changing colors, I think it looks better if you do join rounds.

I didn't use to make hats, but lately I've been on a hat kick and have made dozens of them. I know lots of people have trouble with them, so I created a tutorial.

http://www.crochetcabana.com/tutorials/in-the-round-hats.htm

If you're uncomfortable with working in rounds, the first part of the tutorial addresses that.

http://www.crochetcabana.com/tutorials/in-the-round.htm