tunisian stitch has me quivering in fear

creativegoodness

Question

I have the simply creative crochet mag and there is a jacket there i want to make, the cowgirl's fringed jacket. so much so that i didn't pay attention to the fact that I also had to look for an afghan/tunsian hook...... i have never tried it before, had not even given it a 2nd thought until i got home and realized what the durn hook would be for after looking at the instructions. And now I am........:sweat:worried:blink:scared

i want this jacket....i can't find a similar pattern on the net (it has peplum), so my questions are

1. is it as scary as it seems?

2. if so, is it worth it?

3. any tips/suggestions on working in this stitch or am i blowing it out of porportion?

:blush help?

(i know, i know...just jump into it and get started right?!......i'm a big chicken)

It just says "The stitch used in this project is known as Tunisian or Afghan stitch"........? I didn't know there were names and stuff....see how little I know about it?!

I have also just become fascinated with Tunisian knit stitch. So far I've only done a swatch but I'd eventyally like to do a sweater if possible. I just can't figure out how to decrease and increase in Tunisian. Does anyone know of any good tutorials which cover increasing and decreasing?

So sorry. I did not make myself clear on that post. I was referring to the Tunisian video.

:)

Happy anniversary - nice to have you with us!

Heavens, NO NEED to apologize. I was chuckling when I wrote that. ;-) For me, it seems like I've been at this for longer than I have. It's all these hours or work that make it feel that way.

One trick I learned is on the first row, instead of inserting the hook from front to back to pick up the stitches, insert from back to front. It helps keep it from curling.

Also, if you always work TSS in the first and last stitch of a row, it helps too (but I don't like how this looks myself so I would swatch it before doing it).