Crochet speed

Kim M.

Question

Hello Everyone!

I have a question. I am a beginner crocheter and I am wondering what is a normal speed to crochet. I picked a very easy project that I found in a parneting magazine. You make 5" singel crochet squares and then assemble them to make your blanket. You can make any size blanket you want depending on how many squares. I decided to make mine with 80 squares (8 rows across and 10 squares per row). It takes me 1 hour to make each square and finish the edges. I feel like it is taking forever to finish this project. Is this a good speed or am I really slow? I have been laying out my finished squares and I am excited about how it is looking so far, but I am only half way done.

Kim M.

10 answers to this question

:cheer Don't stop, for starters! The more you do the faster you get. I think that is absolutely a reasonable amount of time to spend on a square, and to me the most important part is the 'am I having fun?' part. :dance It sounds like you are. Besides that, if it isn't for a gift with a deadline, you can take as much time as you want to get it finished. I think you are doing just fine, and I can't wait to see it when you've got if finished. :photo

I agree with Julie! That sounds about how long it takes me (I always feel like I am a slow crocheter though that might be partially because it takes me forever to finish projects for myself).

It sounds like the afghan is turning out great and you're having fun with it -- it's neat to see something you're making come together! I can't wait to see it! :)

Sounds about the right speed, especially for a beginner. I know beginners that take hours, if not days, to finish one 7-inch square, and I'm talking about a simple square.

With time, your speed & accuracy will increase. The main thing to keep in mind is your tension & gauge. The rest will follow with practice.