Just not fair!

diamond

I know this has been discussed before but it ticks me off. It's just not fair that knitting magazines/web sites have the coolest patterns and there are no patterns comparable for crochet. The latest issue of VogueKnitting has some really great patterns in it and advertisements for web sites that have even better patterns. It's just not fair. Where are all the great patterns for crochet (whether for free or sale)? I am a novice knitter and know if I put my heart into it, I could knit as well as crochet. But, simply put, I don't like to knit. Don't like having to use 2 needles vs. 1 little hook. GRRRRR Makes me crazy, like I really need to be crazier than I already am. :rant

A lot of European crochet patterns are much more stylish than American patterns. You could have a look there.

But, yeah, it drives me nuts, too! I have the Interweave Knits crochet issue, and while the patterns are really good, I still don't think they're up to the standard of the knitting patterns they publish.

Part of it might be demand - if the companies don't know that we want good stylish patterns, then they won't publish them. Maybe write and tell them?

A lot of European crochet patterns are much more stylish than American patterns. You could have a look there.

QUOTE]

Where can I find the european crochet patterns? I have seen some pictures of lovely stuff but don't know where to get them.

Where can I find the european crochet patterns? I have seen some pictures of lovely stuff but don't know where to get them.

Here's a place to start:

http://www.karpstyles.com/catalog.html?category=British

http://www.uzelok.ru/woman_gall.html (Russian)

http://petli.sitecity.ru/ (Russian)

http://www.circulo.com.br/ (Brazilian)

Check out elann.com. They sell pattern books from companies like Schachenmayr. I just bought their book called "Inspiration" which is full of gorgeous crocheted summer items.