Still lost...

Anya

Question

I've been looking at these patterns that I LOVE! And they are in british terms. I've asked for help translating them on here before but with no luck. Anyone out there that has a idea how to convert those british terms onto americans? Help, I'm dying to make those beautifull shawls!

I am not good with yarn subbing. If you are wandering around your yarn place... look for other yarns that recommend a hook in the 3 - 4 mm range. (Whatever those hook sizes are in Murican :wlol )

I kind of figured it was a fine yarn. Is there any other yarn I would be able to substitute for alpaca since I don't think I have ever seen alpaca in the craft stores around here. I checked ebay and it's plentifull there but I'd rather just buy it around here.

Thanks. If you check on the yarn (alpaca) you will find that they recommend a 3mm or 3.5 mm needles/hooks for that yarn.

That seems a tad small to me but I haven't actually used the yarn to know if it is that fine. The shawl makes it look more like a WW (4)yarn

Thanks for the link. That is a nice pattern and would be nice on a summer night.

if you post a link to the actual pattern it might help us to help you as well. Drops usually posts that information at the top of the page.

One other thing did occur to me about your original posting.. Perhaps you did not realize that the patterns originate in Europe and the languages you wanted translated were most likely French or Swedish and not English. This also explains why members here were answering the question you did ask and not the question you thought you were asking. :think:eek:think

Drops has some great patterns. They make an effort to translate for the UK but not their charts.

wow, I just noticed that the web site doesn't provide the recommended hook size/yarn to use with this pattern, ohh well, I'll have to guess again.

so I should just ignore the abbreviations on top of the pattern (that's what really confuses me), just go by symbols?