Machine or Hand Sew a Liner?

I'm getting ready to line a bag that I made for a co-worker for her birthday. I'm really terrible at hand sewing and since this is for a gift I want it to look nice. Can you machine sew on a crocheted piece? How does one go about setting their machines for this? I'm still a novice with my sewing machine even tho I've had it 4 years so I would need to practice a bit before attempting on the actual piece.

Any advice?

TIA!:hug

Krystal:hook

I always hand sew my linings. Maybe it would be a good idea to make a swatch and try sewing some fabric to that. It might be easier to sew with the crochet side up so the yarn doesn't get sucked into the bottom of the machine. Maybe lengthen your stitch length and loosen your tension. Just guessing on all this though.......practice on swatches first please!

good luck and waiting to see the finished pics!!

I usually machine sew the lining together, and then hand stitch it into the bag. Use the same color thread as the bag. If you fold it down and then hand stitch it in, it looks very nice. By folding it down, it gives you a straight flat edge to work with.

Good luck.

Let us know how things turn out.

I like to use a contrasting lining. Something that really stands out when you open the bag. But that is just my opinion.

:manyheart

I would think, that if you machine sew, to put the cloth lining on the bottom and the crochet bag on the top so that the feed-dogs (the things that pull the fabric through the machine) don't do wierd things to your wonderfully stitched bag. I'd also use a medium to small stitch length so that you'd be sure to catch the yarn, not just space. I haven't tried sewing any crocheting on my machine before, but it should work if you're careful.

You might want to also try a zigzag stitch instead of a stright stitch.

I always hand sew mine in but have thought many times about doing it with the machine LOL.