What Do You Do With Scraps of Yarn?

I'm new to crocheting and I now am starting to gain scraps of yarn from projects that I have finished with yarn left over. What do you do with your scraps and how much yarn is usually needed?

I make Scrap Happy Scarves and UBW Hats. I use the same method of joining the scraps together on the hat as I do on the scarf.

I'm new to crocheting and I now am starting to gain scraps of yarn from projects that I have finished with yarn left over. What do you do with your scraps and how much yarn is usually needed?

I make scrap afghans from my scrap yarn. I have made probably 6 or 7 of them now. Some are just granny squares with the scrap colors in the middle and either black or white for the edging. I have made several scrap afghans that are hexagons. Those turned out really pretty!

Lynn

I make circles of hope or granny squares and donate them to the women's shelter here. An afghan with a lot different colors for the circles of hope and joined in either a bold color or an off white is amazing. I am putting one together right now with the circles of hope that were donated from a few people from here at crochetville. I can't wait to finish so I can post my pic!!!

Christine,

What a wonderful thing to do! How do you make the circle of hope? I would like to do that. I have made a few large squares for homeless pets but I have not heard of the circle of hope afghans.

Lynn

Hi, Lynn,

A circle of hope is just the first round of a granny square. Here is the link on how to put them together, and if you need a pattern for the square the link is there also. Hope you have fun, because they are beautiful when you are done.

You know, I also tried one with the same color squares instead of a whole bunch, it was truly stunning. So either way, it looks great.

Good luck!

http://www.quilt.com/Crochet/GrannysDaughter/AssembleMotifs.html

Christine,