College Crocheters (and Knitters)

Emily

It seems that I see someone tucked away with a hook or a pair of needles at least once a week. Out comes the yarn, and off they go--it's really quite amusing. A bunch of girls in my hall in the dorm have knitting parties while they're watching TV together, the lot of them perched around making scarves. And this weekend there's an all-supplies-provided for-charity crochet- and knit-athon! :hook

I taught myself to crochet while in college (not too long ago, I'm in grad school now). I was an RA and even had programs teaching people with all supplies paid for by the programming budget. If few people showed up (usualluy just my friends) I got to keep what was left! :yay Suggest this to your RAs, it can be a great program if you pair it with blankets for linus or another charity.

I am in college too.. and i love to crochet, but i barely have time considering what my major is.. also NONE of my friends know how to crochet and knit, and they all look at me weird when i get excited about yarn and going to Michaels or A.C. moore. :)

I started a club at my college two years ago, and even though I've graduated, it's still going. At a school of 4500, we had OVER 100 MEMBERS! It's a very popular hobby!

Oh, and we called it Stitches, so as not to leave anyone out :)

In my college dorm (and I was in college 1996-2000, so before the storm of knitting took over), there was a Bitch n Stitch (waaay before the book came out). While I was never able to go, many people brought knitting or sewing machines.

Nowdays, half the grad students at my department know how to knit/crochet and get together regularly. (and that includes many guys, too)

Wow, when I was in college, everyone just thought I was wierd when they saw me crocheting!

A couple of girls were interested, so I showed them but that was about it.....one girl was really good and surpassed my skills very fast. I was very proud :manyheart