Newbie help

Foxrocs

Question

This is my first attempt to crochet & I’m struggling understanding the pattern. I would appreciate it anyone could help & explain.

1. 8x - I made a chain of 8

2. 8v - I did a line of single stitch but 2 per V ? Is this right 

3.(x.v)8 - need to increase to 24 - how should I spread it out

4(2x.v)8 - completely lost now 

any tips greatly appreciated 

D04F538E-DEEA-4D02-93F7-010B0EC4129B.jpeg

6248D45E-6606-4BAC-845F-7D70CFBD30B0.jpeg

17 answers to this question

I went a bit rouge on the patterns    But had fun learning used a number of different stitches. It doesn’t look the best but it’s my first attempt so I’m pleased I actually finish it!

thanks for all the help on to my next project 😀

758F61E3-E497-4032-BE1F-7D258701E3FF.jpeg

I see you found a better elephant pattern. I created my own elephant from ideas I got from other patterns. That trunk sounds better then the one I made for my elephant. BTW: With the right pattern, that bulky yarn might make a nice warn hat.

Ellie 13

That looks better, stitch wise! 

Something to consider with bulky yarns...  I've noticed  lot of new crocheters seem to gravitate to them because it seems you can make a 'thing' faster because each stitch is ginormous.  However, it usually ends up a more expensive project because there's a lot less yardage on a skein of bulky weight, so you need more skeins.  And for a toy, smaller yarn is actually better, you can achieve more detail and denser stitches hold the stuffing in better.

Thank you so much I’m back on track 

the chunky yarn turns out I’d near have a life size elephant haha so I’ve reverted to the original thinner yarn 

I’ll get there & enjoying the learning process :-) 

no doubt I will have many more questions 

63C9CF6D-3BC7-46A4-A6A6-C242AC076210.jpeg

642D21F8-7511-43EE-BA57-C597C55DC9E2.jpeg