Trebles and Double Trebles - tension with size 10 thread

TXyarnelf

Question

Last night I started on my first string doily, but ran into trouble with the dts that were required.:( I've never had any trouble making trebles using yarn, but working with size 10 thread is another story. The pattern called for four dts in a row. I just couldn't hold the thread with enough tension to make it look good. My dts were way too loose. Any suggestions on how to correct this problem? I'm thinking that it may just b/c I'm haven't worked with thread enough. I finally decided that it wasn't worth the frustration tried a different, but larger, pattern with fewer ts and dts. So far, it has progressed nicely. :hook

11 answers to this question

I am pretty new to thread too. What I did to keep them tighter looking was to make sure that the thread loops stayed close to the hook instead of slipping down the shaft, and I sometimes even manually wrapped the thread over the hook instead of using the hook to grab the thread so that the wraps were tighter. Hope this helps!

With yearsssssssssssss of thread crochet, in holding the thread in my left hand, I close up my little finger and the thread is held in the bend of the finger. For me, at least, this allows me to control the tension on the thread.

I just finished a doily that had 5 dtr in a row and then joined in a cluster. When I was making them they looked too long and kind of puffed out, but after blocking, it all straightened out and looked how it should. Blocking stretches it out and you can correct some things that don't look quite right that way.

and of course.

practice makes perfect!!1

Good luck as you travel down the path of the threadie.