Granny Square Afghan Q?

I'm planning on attempting my first Granny Square Afghan in the near future to help use up some yarn I have sitting around. I've never done one before and have been looking online for square patterns. One thing I am noticing is that there are tons of square patterns out there, but that is it. The patterns end with you completing the square, and don't really tell you how many you may need to make an afghan or what to do with them. I've seen on here that you can pretty much connect them in tons of ways so I think I can figure that out, but the question still stands...

About how many squares make an afghan? I do realize it depends on the size of the square and the size of afghan you are doing. Is there a basic or average afghan size?

Is there a guide out there for square size vs afghan size with you need x number of them? :think

Most of what you are asking is that age old.. "It Depends" answer.

When you say you are planning to make a granny square ghan do you mean the traditional crazy granny where you do the last round of each square with black or the same colour? If that, you can make your squares any size you want based on rows. (remember those weave ins though - they will bite you fer shure)

If you plan to make 12 inch squares it makes it easy to decide your number of squares as you just make 4 foot by 6 foot afghans or a 3X4 foot lapghan.

There is no set size to speak of... only general guidelines. For instance.. I like to make lapghans that are 3 feet by 4 feet. That would be 36 by 48 inches. I am doing the charity squares for Feb. this weekend and my squares are 7 inches. That means that my base afghan will be 35 in by 49 inches. I am fine with that and the border will make everything nice in the end.

if you look at various afghan patterns, you will get general guidelines for afghan sizes but in the end you should go with what serves your purposes. if you are taller or shorter, be ready to adapt.