types of yarn?

as some of you know, I am kinda new to crocheting after being gone for years. Alot seems to have changed since I learned so long ago. I just remember buying yarn at our local dime store. It was all acrylic worsted weight, 4 ply yarn. just different colors to choose from.

Well, yesterday I took my daughter to pick out a color to make a hat, and I was overwhelmed and confused at all the choices. She picked up yarns I had no idea what to do with, how it works up, what it is for....

Can someone please explain to me or show me a site that describes all the different types of yarn and what they are good for?

such as:

1. Cotton? what in the world? how do you crochet with this? what does it turn out like?

2. Wools? stiff, itchy??

3. silky?? tiny 3 ply, and too soft?

4. some of the fuzzy yarns?

5. soft and super soft? so does that mean regular WW is not soft?

Back in the day, there was yarn, and baby yarn. that's it!! now, I have no idea what to use or how to use it. :eek:think

not including the tiny threads with the tiny metal hooks. I learned on that, made doilies with it, but never went back once I crocheted with yarn.

this yarn virgin needs help!! :hook

When I started crocheting heavily again a couple of years ago I went through this same thing!

Lots of people use the cottons for making their own washcloths, I use them for summer clothing! They work up very easily and they're very soft and comfortable to wear.

The knitting worsted that we all know and love from days gone by is best for afghans and amigurumi projects. It's a bit harsh for clothing, unless you're talking about an outer sweater that you're going to wear a long sleeved shirt under it.

Baby yarns are pretty self explanatory, they haven't changed much in the last few years.