Help finding local charities...

donnalynn2

One of my goals this year is to make some items for charity.

I'd really like to help people in my town or nearby. I'm wondering if anyone else tries this approach? Who should I call to find out who's in need and what kinds of things I should make? I know of several charities that are far away but I'd really like to make a difference in my own backyard first.

Heck, maybe I could call the hospital and find out where the chemo patients go to get their treatments and maybe bring in chemo caps, prayer shawls and things like that? Where else should I call?

Churches?

Shelters?

Soup Kitchens?

I'm new to the whole "charity" thing and don't want to spin my wheels here.

Just wondering what others have done that has/hasn't worked, etc.

Thanks everyone!

In my crochet groups, we crochet chemo caps and take them to several cancer centers around town.

A couple of ladies who are Catholic, take baby layettes to Catholic Charities where they help unwed mothers.

I take some of the baby blankets I make to a center that is run by my church denomination. ( I haven't made any gowns or booties yet.)

I have also donated several blankets to my local chapter of the Linus Project. This chapter give blankets to foster childern in the area. Other chapters may give them to hospitals or somewhere else.

I dont know where you live, if your town is big enough, see if there is a Ronald McDonald house in town. The one here asks for childrens blankets, hats, mittens, toys...