I want to learn how to knit...

magicmau5

Question

I've been crocheting for 23 years now, but I never learned to knit. Does anyone have some advice on how I can teach myself to knit? If you know how, did you teach yourself or take a class? Should I just use a YouTube tutorial video or buy a book? I'm not sure what to do since I was taught by someone else how to crochet.

7 answers to this question

You Tube is always an option.  I'd also suggest borrowing books from the library prior to purchasing.  You may find one type of book works better than another for learning.  Also you may find once you've learned you don't wish to keep some of the very basic how to books forever.  Therefore a loaner often works.  If you do decide to buy you know which books you won't like and you don't buy.

Hmm.  I actually learned to knit first, from my mom, but only the barest of basics - cast on, cast off, knit, purl.  I was a freshman in HS, I made a couple of muffler type scarves, and a hat hat was a simple rectangle sewn into a tube, gathered at the top and a pom pom added.  Later that year I learned to crochet from a friends' mom, and dropped the knitting and stuck with crochet....

....until about 10 years ago, which was (ahem)several decades later...hang on, I'm getting to my point...  I watched the winter Olympics and wanted to make a hat like the US team wore, and had found a knit pattern for it.  I was able to remember the basic stitches that I mentioned above, but had never read a knit pattern before so I found knittinghelp.com really helpful to learn the terms, and they have lots of videos so I was able to 'brush up' what I remembered.  So my point is, my recommendation is to try that site first.