roxanneea

roxanneea

Question

Hello crochet experts! I’m fairly new to crochet and struggling to understand this (it’s just a simple blanket pattern)

Row 1 was 1sc, 1dc and I’ve finished this. 

2nd row: Ch 3 (counts as dc). 1 sc in next dc 1 dc in next sc 

will it fall this way automatically because of the previous row? 

sorry if this makes no sense! 

thanks so much in advance :heart

Edited by roxanneea

13 answers to this question

I believe you are discussing the seed stitch.  You alternate the stitches in each row sc in dc, dc in sc.  I have a doll blanket pattern that uses this pattern and I like it because it creates a nice texture and it is easy to follow when I'm not thinking.

I tend to mark the beginning and ending stitch and count at least every other row because I've been known to lose stitches with this pattern and as long as I count I keep on track.

Thanks so much! And will I know if I’m going into an sc or a dc by looking at it in the first instance?

I guess if I mark the last stitch I did on the row as either sc or dc, I will know what it is when I turn and want to go into the sc or dc?

hope I’m making sense 

thanks again :) 

Welcome to the 'ville, and I concur with all of the above.  J

Just adding that you are going to find that crochet stitch names are wildly inconsistent, I can think of at least 1 other crochet stitch called the 'seed' stitch - I learned it (edit, the stitch you are making) ages ago as the 'up down stitch', and Bgs found a link for the same stitch called lemon peel stitch (that's a new name to me but that's a good description!). 

Edited by Granny Square
  • Thanks 1

The picture is great.  I mentioned the seed stitch because I make a doll blanket like that every year and I did look up the stitch online and they list it as the seed stitch.