What am I doing wrong?

KarenPK

Hello!  I’m new to the forum.  I’m kinda new to crocheting...taught myself via YouTube.  But, sadly, I was recently able to see the baby blanket I made as a gift, and the trim was coming undone!  Then today I found the same issue with another baby blanket I made.  It was just a single crochet trim.  I don’t understand how this keeps happening... 😖

I'm hoping someone out there knows what I'm doing wrong...😔

Thank you, thank you in advance!

Karen

Hi Karen,

Oh, those things can be frustrating, can't they?  I remember the first blanket I made that required joining squares.  I saw the first hole in the joining as I was getting ready to wrap it the night before the wedding.  Needless to say, I spent a good portion of the night re-joining all of those squares using a much better method!  

Not actually having the piece to look at makes it difficult to figure out how to help you.  I'm wondering a couple of things, though:  1) how did you secure the last stitch when you finished the trim?  2) did you run out of yarn whilst doing the trim and have to join a new skein?  3) how do you start your new rounds/rows?  What I mean by that is do you put a slip knot in the yarn before you begin a new round/row?  

Maybe someone else will have other (more helpful) thoughts, but these are the points in the trim where I would begin looking.  Oh, and welcome to Crochetville!  I hope you enjoy it here!  :) 

Welcome KarenPK!  I'm having the same thought as Bailey4, a 'rookie mistake' is knotting and/or leaving too-short ends, not cutting out and securing a knot that the manufacturer put in your skein, or simply crocheting over your ends.  Don't feel bad, had to learn this the hard way myself loooong ago before the internet.