Mixing yarn weights?

Susan Casey

Question

Hi, I am a beginner doing Amigurumi and might try working in rows in the future.

I made a project in baby weight yarn and I loved working with that weight as opposed to worsted weight.

I am buying more yarn, I need a palette of colors to work from for current and future projects.

My concern or question is can you mix baby weight and worsted weight in the same project or do they not mix?

12 answers to this question

Hi, welcome to the ville!

You can use different wieghts in one project, but it depends on *how* you are combining them, how big a difference there is between the weights, and the pattern you are using.  

so for example if you are making an ami and you want to use worsted for the head, and baby weight to make the eyes to sew on, that will work; you may have to add rounds to make the eyes the appropriate size.   

to use baby yarn as a substitute for worsted, you may be able to use 2 strands of it at once https://www.lionbrand.com/faq/16.html?language=

each category of yarn is actually a range as you can see http://www.craftyarncouncil.com/weight.html   and each manufacturer decides what category their yarn goes in.  so you may have to swatch and experiment to see what yarns and combinations work for you in the specific project.  

Edited by magiccrochetfan

magiccrochetfan is right. I wouldn't mix yarn weights in the same pattern myself though. It won't look right, and the stitches won't line up properly. You'll have to change hooks too, or get big wide loose stitches with the smaller yarn, and too tight with the thicker one. I'm telilng you it won't work, but maybe someone else has other advice.