another failed project ????

sgd1403

Question

Newbie here. I tried making simple boot cuffs. Easy peasy, right?

Not so much. They ended way to big and my edges are still uneven.

I am finding it really hard to read the stitches for one thing. I bought a stitch counter even! Go figure ????.

14 answers to this question

Aha! I have not been marking the first stitch. I found the pattern on pinterest. I'm also too technically challenged to copy the pattern for you but it was (seemed) so simple. Ch 20 or calf size and then dc into ch × seven. Oh, and having trouble finishing, tieing off.

welcome to the ville!

did you understand what "dc into ch × seven"  means?  that seems very vague to me.

unfortunately pinterest is not the best place to look for patterns,

What yarn are you using?  some yarns are very hard to see the sttiches in.

I would recommend getting a good reference book like Complete Photo Guide to Crochet or Donna Koolers Encyclopedia of Crochet, you should be able to get crochet books via your local library and see which you like best, to decide before you purchase it. 

Here are some good reference sites for you to look at

http://www.crochetcabana.com/html/tutorials.html    Part 4 under Getting Started covers finsihing off

nexstitch.com is a very good site but my browser can't open it now for some reason.  

There are 2 aspects of DC that a lot of new crocheters have trouble with (1)miss the turning chain at the end of a row; this usually ends up with their work losing a stitch each row. (2) chaining 3, then making a DC into the first DC of the row -- this adds a stitch.