Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
ManfaMae

Novelty Scarf

Question

I'm looking for pattern ideas for a novelty scarf for my 14 year old niece. Every year for the past few years, I've made her a scarf for Christmas. So far, she has a school bus, a pencil and a cupcake scarf. Over the weekend, she asked if there were other school-related scarves I could make- ruler, crayon, etc. I haven't seen any other patterns like that, but I'm also not experienced in tunisian crochet or embroidery, so I wouldn't know how to do anything like that anyway. Does anyone have any ideas of another scarf I could make her?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

There is a pattern on "Red Heart" (I think wither that or Caron) for a "Bacon Scarf"

That might be fun, unless she is vegetarian.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Here's a puppet scarf: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/crochet-puppet-scarf

Witches Hug Scarf: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/witches-hug-scarf

Cupcake Scarf: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cupcake-scarf

Pencil Scarf: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/crochet-pencil-scarf

Bear Hug Scarf: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/bear-hug-childrens-scarf

Candy Corn Scsarf: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/candy-corn-scarf

Cow Udder Scarf?? http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/udderly-silly-scarf

Caution Tape Scarf: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/caution-tape-skinny-scarf

Cookie Monster Scarf: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cookie-monster-scarf

Peppermint Candy Scarf: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/peppermint-candy-scarf

Snowman Scarf http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/snowman-scarf-3

Snowman Scar 2 http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/long-snowman-scarf

Crochet Shadow People (this is cool!) Scarf -- http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/crocheted-shadow-scarf-hat-or-belt

Lady Bug Scarf Very cool! http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/ladybug-beret-and-scarf-set

Kitty Scarf (Not a Hello Kitty!) http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/kitty-scarf

Dog Scarf http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/pockets-the-dog-beanie-and-scarf

Heart Scarf: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/valentines-heart-scarf

 

That is probsbly more than enough for now..... :D

 

Ravelry has thousands of scarf patterns. I think they have like 89 pages of patterns if you just search for crochet scarf. I looked through less than half of them.

Edit to add: Just went back and saw you already have a pencil & cupcake -- sorry for the duplicates! I did find one crayon scarf pattern but it is for knit insted of crochet: http://slippedstitch.blogspot.com/2005/12/my-crayon-scarf.html Some can convert -- I am not sure how.

Edited by DebraKay

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Not school related free patterns.

 

Piano keyboard:

 

http://www.crochetspot.com/crochet-pattern-piano-key-scarf/

 

Sushi roll (does look better rolled up than in use):

 

http://scarfmaker.blogspot.com/2007/10/sushi-roll-scarf-with-pattern.html

 

Rainbow and clouds:

 

http://candypow.blogspot.com/2009/03/rainbow-clouds-scarf-pattern.html

 

Watermelon:

 

http://gegecrochet.blogspot.com/2009/01/winter-watermelons-part-deux-free.html

 

Hotdogs:

 

http://www.monstercrochet.com/WeenieLinkScarfPattern.html

 

Gold fish:

 

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/guppies

 

Dragon:

 

http://seilerclan.blogspot.com/2007/12/beginnings-of-dragon.html

 

Bunnies:

 

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/marshmallow-bunny

 

 

That was a quick scan of free patterns at Ravelry. There were a few more and lots of patterns to purchase.

You could also use a motive and sew them end to end.

 

You could pre-order this book with food scarves:

 

http://www.amazon.com/Twinkie-Crochet-Goodies-Fashion-Foodies/dp/0740797581/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

 

Wow -- That is quite a site! I have some of those patterns and at first wondered about it. But, I read her explnation that she has had her patterns in various catalogues (actually I have a couple from magazines) but retained the right to sell her own. I made that little Elf several years ago from a magazine pattern and have been meaning to do Roebuck for a while.

 

She has some very creative scarves too! I will keep that page bookmarked and I am sure I will be sending some business her way! Thanks for posting the link!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...