Mounting/Framing thread crochet

Mommy2Max

Question

I made a filet crochet doily with my last name crocheted into it and my husband wants to frame it and hang it on a wall. I've never done anything like that before, so I'm not sure where to start. Also, I'm on a budget and don't have a ton of money to throw at a framing project, which is why I'm asking for help here.

It's about a foot long and about 6-7" high.

I took it to Hobby Lobby and they, of course, tried to "up-sell" me and quoted me an outrageous price to get it done "correctly." Their version of doing it "correctly" is to poke holes in an acid-free mat (preferably the more expensive suede, of course, so the color doesn't bleed) and sew the doily to the mat with clear fishing line. Which THEY can do for me, for an even higher price.

In addition to the more expensive mat, expensive sewing process, etc., I also apparently need to get UV protected glass so that any light hitting the doily/mat won't fade it over time.

The framing department sales guy was actually quite good (i.e. persuasive) at his job. He appealed to my crocheting pride and told me "Don't you want to do this the right way so that your grandchildren will have it for years into the future??????" PS- I'm 29, and don't even have any kids, so grandchildren aren't exactly a consideration at this point.

Long story short- I'm basically looking for a way to mount this thing to a mat and frame it so that it lasts, looks pretty, won't damage the doily, and won't cost me the approx. $75 that this project will cost if I hand it over to HL for their "framing expertise." :think

Can I mount it to a mat with rubber cement? Double-sided tape? Is the sewing method really the best way to mount it? Also, will the color of a mat bleed into my thread over time? This thing will not be in direct sunlight at any time, so do I really need anti-UV glass?