help with hook set

Alucard

So i am new to crocheting and am looking for a good hook set to start off with. I only have one hook so far that i got to do my first project. I was looking at this set.

http://www.yarnmarket.com/yarn/Crochet_Hooks-Denise_Interchangeable_Crochet_Hook_Kit-6296.html

Does that seem like a good price? or would it be better to just get the hooks individually? Also, what are the "end buttons" and "extenders" good for?

:thinkIn my humble opinion, you only need to purchase hooks as and when you need them.

:thinkIt seems excessive to pay so much for a set of hooks, many of which you may never use.:think

I have more than one hook of the same size though so I can have more than one thing on the go at the same time with the correct hook always on hand.

Most of my hooks are different brands, as long as they are the correct sizing I dont mind because you only use one at a time so no-one will know you do not have a matching set.

The main thing is to enjoy yourself.

Have fun.

Colleen:hug

I agree with both- what if you don't like those hooks? You may find that you prefer one type hook over another- Me, I am a Bates gal! I love my bamboo handle Susan Bates hooks- Some others prefer Boyle. Some like plastic, others metal or wood. I hope you enjoy your:crocheting

I agree with both- what if you don't like those hooks? You may find that you prefer one type hook over another- Me, I am a Bates gal! I love my bamboo handle Susan Bates hooks- Some others prefer Boyle. Some like plastic, others metal or wood. I hope you enjoy your:crocheting

I agree with imanurse55 everyone has different preferances. I am a Susan Bates Silverlume gal myself & they are under $2 each

Good luck in your quest for your favorite hooks :hook