Blind Moment, need your eyes!

I have been crocheting for 30 years and that isn't my problem. you see, I am blind and want to design a 'rattle snake" for my husband. I know they have a diamond design down their backs, but can someone describe more? I would greatly appreciate it! I do lots of designing as long as I know what something looks like. I know that sounds funny, but my family and friends say I am a "visual blind person"! Thanks for any or all help.

they have a rattler on the back of them and they have fangs if you are talking about the wesTern diamondback snake. they also have rows of diamonds that are lighter in color that leads up to the main dark row of daimonds on the back.Looks like the diamonds are outlined in the lighter tan color the showoff the darker diamond.

Thanks! So if I do a series of darker diamonds or even variegated diamonds for the back and then crochet around with a lighter color would that give the right impression? What color is the belly and the head? I am not sure at this point if I will do the fangs (hmm, I gues it is quite necessary). I think I heard that the rattles are either dark or dark and light together. Thanks!

snake looks like those diamond socks.. argayles I cant spell the word that is the best way to describe it. its dark brown with lighter brown, tan color is the outline of the diamonds. the head is the same color as the body with tan color lines running through it. its a flat head snake. that puffs out alittle in the middle then little smaller to the body .the rattler looks like its dark brown and tan in stripes.

The "rattler" on a rattlesnake is lighter than the snake. Could someone look on line for you and then describe the little devil?

BTW - - I am from Central Texas and I HATE (did I say HATE?) rattlesnakes.