Crocheting with more than one skein........?

Have any of you ever crocheted with more than one skein of yarn at once? I am making a cross afghan and you have to change colors and you cant carry the colors, so for each section you have to use a seperate skein of yarn. I am using 3 skeins of yarn right now at once. I have adjusted the pattern, if I didnt I would be using 5 at once. This is my first time doing this. Any tips or suggestions? It is a pain to do but I think the results will be worth it. I was just wondering if any one experiance with this and maybe have some tips or suggestions. The pattern is from a book and not online. I am making it as part of the crochet games, and it really has proven to be a challenge for me.

When I was doing that for small squares, I used safety pins to hold small balls of each color to the wrong side of the work, and would just pick them up as I went along, maybe you can make more manageable size balls of the color in the middle, but then you'll have more ends to work in so it's a trade off. Good Luck!

you can get some plastic "bobbins" to wrap smaller amounts of yarn around.( you can buy them at most craft stores) or you could use empty toilet paper or paper towel rolls. i hope you have a great time with your afghan! good luck!

Have any of you ever crocheted with more than one skein of yarn at once? I am making a cross afghan and you have to change colors and you cant carry the colors, so for each section you have to use a seperate skein of yarn. I am using 3 skeins of yarn right now at once. I have adjusted the pattern, if I didnt I would be using 5 at once. This is my first time doing this. Any tips or suggestions? It is a pain to do but I think the results will be worth it. I was just wondering if any one experiance with this and maybe have some tips or suggestions. The pattern is from a book and not online. I am making it as part of the crochet games, and it really has proven to be a challenge for me.