Beginners Book Suggestions?

Good Afternoon Everyone,

I hope I'm posting this question in the right folder! :) I'm brand new to the world of crochet and I was wondering if anyone might have some suggestions on books for beginners? I've purchased a couple of books but I'm looking for other suggestions. :)

The books I have purchased are:

• Teach Yourself Visually Crocheting by Kim Werker & Ceicily Kiem
  • Get Hooked! by Kim Werker
  • 10 20 30 Minutes Learn to Crochet by Leisure Arts

Thanks in advance!

I taught myself to Crochet recently and the only book I needed was "Stitch'n Bitch Crochet the Happy Hooker", Debbie Stoller also taught me how to knit a few years ago.

I also bought "The Art of Knitting & Crochet 2" DVD which was invaluable to me to visually see how to Crochet from the Crochet Guild President Nancy Brown. Also ther is a wonderful inexpensive Interactive CD from coats called "Crochet made Easy" which is wonderful.:hook

When I first started I used Crochet Made Easy. I got mine at Wal-Mart for a couple of dollars and it is a book that is about the sized of a sheet of paper folded in half. Has directions and pics on how to do the stitches, starting, finishing, joining, etc plus some patterns that are easy. Good luck!

getting beginner books may be encouraging but, for me, the only way I could learn to crocher was by doing it not reading about it. Sometimes I could not figure our what was going on until I tried it.

There are also some on line tutorials with animations that seem to be clearer than book directions.

Everyone learns differently, but for me I would not buy another beginner book but spend that money on a better quality (not expensive) yarn and go at it.

You might also want to try a couple or three different kinds of hooks to see what feels most comfortable to you.

Any way GOOD LUCK.

And I am glad you found your way to this site... I have found lots and lots of help here.!