Keeping gauge

Is it just me, or does anyone else have the problem of having to go down sizes in hooks to keep gauge.

Every crocheter I know says it's just the opposite. It's too tight so they go up a hook or 2.

Crochet is definitely a stress reliever for me so maybe I crochet loose because I am relaxed. Any comments?

Sheryl

I am new to crochet but the things I've made so far, I've had to go up a hook size. I am starting to loosen up but, boy, my stitches were really tight until someone told me about it! It really is more relaxing when I loosen my stitiches!

I can never get the gauge right...EVER! So I really don't pay any attention to it anymore. Whatever size the item I am working on becomes, thats fine with me.

But I like you, crochet loose. I agree it must be the relazation.

val

Well, I used to say I crocheted loose, but the last two patterns I've been too small on. Hmm.... The one is really easy to add the extra I need to, but the other, I've got to frog :sigh. Oh well, I was really hoping to get that one done last month for my mom. Luckilly I wasn't too far in. I read somewhere that you really should think of the hook mentioned in the pattern as a starting point and to just use what you need to use and not worry about it. But it does go easier if you crochet a little loose as opposed to a little tight...

I work mostly on afghans and stuffed toys. I just use the hook listed.

I tend to work tight and have yarn left over! But it's okay to have to change the hook to get the gauge needed.

With afghans I don't worry much about gauge, I just have to be consistent throughout the project, especially if it's done in pieces that need to be assembled. Or if I'm sending out specific sized squares for someone else to assemble.

I use more yarn than called for on most projects.

Sheryl