Teaching crochet to ppl who don't speak english well

I'm an ESL teacher and just for fun wanted to teach one of my students how to crochet (she saw me do it as I was waiting for some students to arrive).

I tried to day and it went dismally! First of all she is left handed so I tried crocheting left handed too so she could just copy and that went ok but it was a struggle! She's my first crochet student.

I was going to just teach how to start off a blanket (chain then treble stitch) but I read on Crochetville about starting students off with something like a coaster by crocheting in the round.

That did not work!!

Can anyone help me with some teaching tips or even better yet help me find some instructions in Vietnamese????

How about starting her off with a scarf? It's long enough to give her plenty of practice with one or two specific stitches, yet short enough to keep her from getting frustrated before the end. And she can stop anytime she wants to since she would be controlling the length.

Or you can start her off with a square coaster, which would be simpler than trying to explain crocheting in the round right off the bat. Hope that helps!

:cheer Try to teach her right handed because it is a big enough challenge teaching someone who does not know the language without trying to do it backwards.

If you teach her right handed, you will always be able to help her sort out problems.

The lefties in our family have all become very good at Knitting, Crocheting and in my daughters case, cutting hair right handed.

Knitting and crochet involve using both hands in an almost equal way and lefties adapt so that they still use their left hand in the dominant action, even though the hook is in the right hand.

If you just sit beside your pupil and crochet very slowly you will be surprised how quickly she will work out what you are doing.

My mum has a Russian caregiver, at the Resthome where she lives.