Can you design something a little different...

tlisley

Question

Than the traditional Granny square? I need something very simple, that a blind (recently gone blind) woman can crochet. My grandmother has been crocheting as long as I can remember. She's awesome. Unfortunately through macular degeneration she has lost her sight. She just fought the battle of breast cancer and WON in January after a radical mastectomy at 82 and had her 83rd birthday this month. She's amazing , you guys. I am not experienced enough to come up with something a little bit fun for her to do, she still crochets everyday but is limited to a Granny square, she can't see the stitches, but she can find the last one in the chain to form a circle and crochet into the empty spaces of the chains etc. All she does at this point are the huge Granny square blankets. (You know the ones that are just one continuous granny?) Last time I saw her she said she wished she could do more, but was thankful she could at least do this. It nearly broke my heart. I was just thinking with all the talent here maybe someone could come up with an easy variation, or knows of one already out there that I could show her. And yes, lol, her name is "Granny".

Thanks all :manyheart

12 answers to this question

I don't have any ideas but wanted to say you're so sweet for trying to help your Granny. :hug

Thanks, I just keep thinking what I would feel like if I'd done this for -ahem- 30 plus years, and suddenly I'm limited to a giant granny square...:cry She was a threadie for years... BEAUTIFUL doilies... people actually recognize her work on site because it's that good. Can you imagine? (Well, I'm sure we have folks like that here, but I ain't one of 'em! ;) )

With all the great people here, I'm sure there will be lots of wonderful ideas!