Warmth of acrylic yarn?

Hi,

I just made my daughter mittens ( http://www.bevscountrycottage.com/bev-hat-mitts.html )out of caron simply soft but now I'm wondering if they will be warm enough for her. Do you think that acrylic is good? Or should I make her mittens out of wool? She's only 15 months so I don't think she'll be out in the cold too often but when she is I'd like her to stay warm. I was also going to make the matching hat but I thought I'd ask about warmth here first before I spend time on a hat. Since I'm new to crocheting I haven't experienced Caron simply soft myself in cold weather.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Kristen

Well, I've never made mittens, but when I lived in Virginia I did make both girls ponchos out of Simply Soft, and they were quite content with them. I think the stitch you use really has the most to do with it. Personally--and I'm probably alone in this--I wouldn't make my toddler mittens out of wool yarn, but that's because it makes me itch like heck & I wouldn't want to take the chance it'd affect my girls the same way.

I've always worn arcylic after an incident with rust color wool pants as a small child. I'm thinking now it was the dye more than the wool, because I can work with wool, just haven't worn any yet. I found acrylic better for my kids mittens because it dried more quickly...great on snowy days when they go thru so many pairs. Where are you located? I think woolen mittens would be more for prolonged exposure, like playing out for extended times in a frigid climate.

I'm about to move back to IL. I've lived in the south for a couple of years so I think I have forgotten how cold it can get up North.

Thank you for the responses! I feel better now that I spent two days figuring out how to get this pattern to fit my daughter. Now I can continue working on the other pair I'm trying out from lion brand here. http://www.lionbrand.com/patterns/chs-mittens.html