C2C Blanket Question

jstaff

Question

Hello!

I have done many corner to corner scarfs and hats but have never attempted a c2c blanket before. It always has seemed daunting to me. I was considering doing a c2c blanket from an image as a gift. It would be two colors total. I found someone who completed a blanket that I would like to replicate using the same image and coloring. Is this an advanced project for a beginner c2c crocheter?

Thanks!

https://www.reddit.com/r/crochet/comments/m4aeuk/c2c_uva_blanket/?rdt=43987

14 answers to this question

Jstaff, I'm no expert, I've done things in a corner-to-corner fashion but in plain knit or crochet stitches not the C2C stitch pattern.  I don't think it would be difficult, just a BIG project; it's all simple shapes and you aren't changing color all that often (just admire your work frequently to make sure you are on track with the pattern!).

Horsy, a wild guess, and I'm not 100% confident this is the reason.  I make a lot of center out doilies and my stitch height, versus the designers', makes a difference that I often have to compensate for (to keep it from ruffling or cupping).  I wonder if starting in a corner, and have stitch heights going in 2 directions could be a factor in the end item not having square corners if your stitch heights differ from the designer; in other words, I'm imagining you may the same problem as I do with my round doilies, but in your case you are sort of making 1/4th of a doily shape for the first half of the piece, -ish.  So example if your starting corner is greater than 90°, it is like my round doily ruffling.

• Like 2