Need help with "graph type" pattern...

ROBERTAJS21

Question

Hi, I've been crocheting for about 50 years but had to stop for about 30 due to life....I found several patterns that I love but I'm not quite sure how to interpret them. I think they are called grid or graph patterns. anyways I much prefer the good old fashioned regular patterns where the designer states exactly how to work each and every row! So here's my problem....when I'm reading/working the pattern from left to right is not a problem but...when I turn do I read the grid/graph from right to left or left to right? If that doesn't make sense maybe the attached will....after the first few rows, the pattern says "now continue to follow the graph etc... " So..... after I turn then ch 3 do I follow the pattern from left to right or right to left? And....for the "solid square" is it only just 2 DC or is it 3 DC and the "holes" are they 1 DC, and 1 ch 1, or, are the holes 1 DC, ch 1, & 1 dc?  In the attached image (I haven't started it yet) I can easily figure out the NOEL part of it but once it gets to the tree design I want it to be done right so ANY help is appreciated. Oh, one more thing.....I am left handed and sometimes people send images that are for right handed and I can't always get it!

So for row 21 do I turn, ch 3 then 3 solids, 1 hole, 14 solids, 4 holes etc or is it turn, ch 3 dc 3 solids, 1 hole, 14 solids, 1 hole, 2 solids, 1 hole etc to the end....

OR.... row 22: do I turn, ch 3 then 3 solids, 1 hole, 15 solids, 5 holes etc or turn, ch 3, 3 solids, 1 hole, 11 solids, 1 hole, 8 solids, 1 hole, 2 solids etc....

I hope you can understand my blabbering...THANKS!!!!!

20211218_141440.jpg

20211218_141454.jpg

20 answers to this question

When I do graph work, I read the first row and every odd row right to left.

Second row and all even rows are left to right. 

I always make an extra copy of the graph, so I can mark off the rows I have worked.