Do they ever test their patterns!?

Our local JoAnn's put out some crochet books for clearance, and I picked up a Leisure Arts, Anne Halliday booklet on making easy crochet rugs. Has anyone else ever made any of these? When I was casually reading the first pattern I found dumb (minor) mistakes in the beginning of the first pattern. Geez! Does that mean all of the patterns in it are messed up? I can usually figure out what they really meant to say, but I hate it when they are flat out screwed up.

I feel like Leisure Arts must not have testers proof their patterns. :angry Before I spend a fortune on the pattern and yarn and puts several hours of work in something, I like to feel confident it will work.

Do you find LA to have alot of mistakes or have I just had a run of bad luck lately? Hmmmm...I feel like writing an "onion" letter.

Yes, I find many mistakes in Leisure Arts patterns and I find them difficult to understand. It stunk when I was a beginner crocheter and didn't know better....even simple dishcloth patterns were klonky!

I was wondering about this! I've only bought a couple patterns, mostly because I have been doing patterns found online or from books I've gotten at the library. But I was thinking I'd like to start picking up a few pattern booklets, and wasn't sure which to trust. Are the Annie's Attic ones usually good, and not riddled with errors? I don't trust my own ability to detect mistakes and correct them before I make a hash of a project.:worried

Lene'

I was getting irritated just last night over this very issue! I'm working on a sweater for Natalie, very simple design, but the pattern directions have several mistakes! I had to frog back a couple of times to fix problems that wouldn't have occured if the instructions were written properly (The book in question is "Crochet for Tots"). And they were stupid things too! Grr. :angry

Megan