Right kind of thread for a beginner

Hey folks,

I got my sis some crochet hooks for Christmas, she's keen to get started and is a total beginner. I understand there are better and worse kinds of thread (wool or cotton etc) to use for the beginner and just wondered if you could tell me the type of stuff I should be looking for? The set of hooks I got is a 9 piece ranging from 2mm to 6mm.

Don't worry, it's a late christmas for us so I've still time :)

Oh and a happy Christmas all ;)

Cheers

What a nice brother you are!

I woould look for some wool yarn in a solid color, a light color would make it easy to see the stitches. DK would be a good weight.

i think in Scotland, dk will be an easy weight to find. With hooks in those sizes she will be able to use yarn in many weights.

I've got a different opinion on learning yarn.  I would start with the cheapest acrylic, 4-py, worsted weight in a light, solid color.  Wool tends to have little fibers that stick out, whereas acrylic is smooth and rips out easily for mistakes.  4-ply, worsted seems to be the most common yarn, but that's here in the States.  A light, solid color, like a pastel, is easiest to see the stitch work.  Don't go with pure white though, it tends to blend together more than an off white. 

Once she's learned the basics, she'll be able to use any available yarn.

Merry Christmas!!

I also would go with the  Acrylic or something along that type with a #4, worsted weight.

Wool could be a problem, not only price, but she may be a little allergic to it.  You have to be careful when you go that way.  I also would go with the pastel colors, easier to see the stitches and easier to work with when you are learning.

Happy Christmas to you and your family.

Mr.Cat, as you can see, there are varying opinions on this question, just like most areas of life I guess ;-)