How to keep an even tension

olg

Question

I am crocheting a single crochet scarflette. The tension on each row MUST be even and exactly the same or it sticks out like a sore thumb. I am having a real problem with this. Any suggestions? 

19 answers to this question

Thanks Avonlady. It is amazing what a difference it makes when you have a problem and can ask a human for help.

Olg, I, too, learned from a little book that had all the lessons for knitting, crocheting, tatting, embroidery, weaving, etc.!  So I know what you're going through!  We're glad you joined the 'Ville!  There's always someone here to help you!  Happy crocheting!

Thank You One and All for all your help. I am learning so much from reading your replies and ideas. You just can't imagine how much you all are teaching someone who was self-taught from a book and a kit. 

katyallen8090: Thank you, I am going to continue struggling along. Hopefully, what I have in my hands will look like what I have in my mind

Granny Square: Thank you. That is one thing I have been doing, forming my stitches right at the hook. I'll try to consciously make then further back. 

Magiccrochetfan: LOL. If and when I ever get it finished, I will let you know how it turned out. Thanks for all your help.

Hang in there.  Yes, practice and don't be afraid of ripping.  I wish I could somehow 'bank' all my ripped stitches and magic wand them (perfectly formed) into a new project, I could supply the whole forum with blankets after all these years I'm sure.