Very frustrated

Zhaylin Black

Question

Is there no hope for me :P

I cannot read patterns.  I've tried for, easily, 15 + years.

YouTube has been a tremendous help because I can SEE the work as it progresses.  But everyone, so far, loses me with rounding corners and raising the work (as with purses and bags).  I can't quite see where the work connects ("hidden" stitches and such).

Any recommendations on where I should look?

20 answers to this question

Thanks for the reassurance :)

I've never used needles to hide my work before.  I've used hooks to hide the tails, but I've never tried the weaving before.  I've seen it done with the needles recently and it does seem much more secure (I had always just sort of weaved the tails along the foundation- not into the stitch).

Darn pattern reading again lol.  I just sort of "play it by ear" (or eye, as the case may be :D ).  I never learned how to read patterns.

Thank you :)  I'll try it both ways.  I've been working on small projects for experimenting.

I figured out the Coin Purse video, for the most part.  Working with plarn, I've discovered they make excellent cases for balls of plarn or yarn.  Just feed the end of the material through the bottom hole.

Thank you for the suggestion :)

I had been terribly under-stocked of pretty much everything.

I hadn't any paperclips or safety pins.  I bought bobby pins and they're working great so far.

I'm confused about where to place the marker though.

If I'm working in a circle and I have to crochet one chain before making my first stitch- does the marker go into the chain or the first stitch lol

I've tried yarn, in the past, but it gets lost too easily for me.  I bought the needles I wanted and looked for markers but they only had knitters marks.  I'm going to pick up some bobby pins later today and give those a try :)

I want to work on basic granny squares until I perfect the art of turning lol