Help! needing to understand a instruction on a pattern

Carters6

Question

Hi there,

I'm new to this Crochet fun and am starting a baby outfit.

The bit I am stuck on is the following instruction:

1st Row: 3ch (3ch counts as 1tr 1ch)

What does this mean??

Would be very happy with help

Thanks in advance,

xx;)

14 answers to this question

First, is this pattern written in British or American terminology?

Second - would it be possible to get any instruction directly before and after this row? Perhaps a link to the pattern (if free online) or the name of it if its not :)

Edited by cris

Hi there,

I'm new to this Crochet fun and am starting a baby outfit.

The bit I am stuck on is the following instruction:

1st Row: 3ch (3ch counts as 1tr 1ch)

What does this mean??

Would be very happy with help

Thanks in advance,

xx;)

It just means that you will chain 3 and that chain 3 will count as one treble crochet + one chain. It takes the place of the first treble and chain one, in the pattern.

Here are the instructions for completing a treble crochet (U.S. version) if that is needed: http://www.anniesattic.com/crochet/content.html?content_id=19

Step 1: Bring yarn twice over the hook (from back to front), skip the first four chains, then insert hook into the fifth chain from the hook

Step 2: Hook yarn and draw it through the chain stitch and up onto the working area of the hook; you now have four loops on the hook.

Step 3: Hook yarn and draw it through the first two loops on the hook. ou now have three loops on the hook.

Step 4: Hook yarn again and draw it through the next two loops on the hook. Two loops remain on the hook

Step 5: Hook yarn and draw it through both remaining loops on the hook. You have now completed one treble crochet and one loop remains on the hook.

(use the link above to see the pictures to go along with the instructions).

If this pattern is in UK terms instead of US, then:

A UK treble crochet = a US double crochet.